ACA Woking News by Bill Bawden, PRO

16 December 2008

ACA Members Receive Commendations

David Jackson, AM Walker and Ron Houghton
with the Presidential Commendation certificates

Flt Sgt Anna Hooley and Sgt Neal Lyon

The guests of honour at the very successful Christmas luncheon of the Woking Branch of the AirCrew Association at Camberley Heath Golf Club were the ACA President, Air Marshal Peter Walker, and Mrs Walker. The president awarded his commendation certificates to two branch stalwarts, webmaster David Jackson and welfare officer Ron Houghton.

AGM Elects New Committee

John Thorburn is the new Branch Chairman

Flt Sgt Anna Hooley and Sgt Neal Lyon

The annual general meeting at Fairoaks Aerodrome first paid silent tribute to the four members who had died during 2008.

Stuart Holmes was elected vice-chairman in place of John Thorburn who steps up to succeed Laurie Taylor as chairman. Laurie's leadership and enthusiasm during his three years in the chair have left the branch in very good health and the meeting expressed its warm appreciation of his efforts.

The finances are likewise in good stead with treasurer, Tony Rest, recording that the branch had made donations in the past year totalling £555 to service and local charities and would be able to increase this figure in 2009.

Back to top of page